Home » Articles » NI tech talent to the fore as Digital DNA Awards 2019 short list revealed

NI tech talent to the fore as Digital DNA Awards 2019 short list revealed

A record number of entries to the 2019 Digital DNA Awards has been whittled down to a high-calibre short list featuring the best technology businesses and people in Northern Ireland.

Finalists in the highly-coveted Company of the Year category – which will be voted for by the public – are: Allstate, Dawson Andrews, Kainos, Novosco, See Sense and Whitespace.

The finalists in the other categories can be seen below and the winner of each will be announced at the awards night on 28th March 2019 in St Anne’s Cathedral.

The judges said the calibre of entries has been extremely high.

Victoria Shanks, Executive Director and Global Head of Kx Services at First Derivatives and one of the judges at the Digital DNA Awards 2019, said: “We knew there is a rich seam of entrepreneurial tech talent in Northern Ireland but this year’s entries have really blown us away. They have proven that we are capable of creating technology businesses and talent which is not just impressive in a local sense, but are capable of competing at the highest level on a global basis.

“From what we’ve seen, the future of Northern Ireland’s digital sector is in good hands.”

Simon Bailie, CEO of Digital DNA, said: “The judges were impressed by another stellar list of entries so once again it is going to be another tightly fought competition. This competition has gone from strength-to-strength and promises once again to reinvigorate the the technology sector in Northern Ireland and let the world see the brilliant individuals and businesses we have here.”

The judges included some of the keenest minds in the technology world including: Tony McManus, the Chief Information Officer, Enterprise Data, at US news, data and analysis giant Bloomberg LLP in New York; Victoria Shanks, Executive Director and Global Head of Kx Services at First Derivatives; Lisa Bailie, Eco System Manager at Barclays Eagle Labs; Jeremy Biggerstaff, Managing Director of Flint Studios; Paula Kennedy, Vice President of Concentrix; Dave Vincent, Chief Digital Officer at Tourism NI; Andi Jarvis, Creative Director at Eximo Marketing and Lisa Donaldson, Co-founder of Tech Education Network.

The Digital DNA Awards ceremony takes place on 28th March 2019 in St Anne’s Cathedral, Belfast. Shortlisted companies and individuals will receive complementary passes to Digital DNA 2019, taking place 18th and 19th June 2019. Further information is available at digitaldna.org.uk.

The full list of categories are: Business Personality of the Year, Developer of the Year, Entrepreneur of the Year, Young Person of the Year, App of the Year, Best Digital Marketing Campaign, Digital Project of the Year, e-Commerce Project of the Year, Best Tech for Good Innovation, Deal of the Year, Best Large Tech Company, Best Small Tech Company and Start-up of the Year.

The full list of shortlisted finalists are:

App of the Year

  • TakeTen Ltd – Relaxit
  • Origin Digital – Smart Care Doc – Reducing the cost of healthcare
  • Scaffold Digital – Ireland a Directory
  • Secure Broadcast – Universal App
  • STATSports – Apex Athlete Series
  • Sugar Rush Creative – Whistle App

Deal of the Year

  • Dawson Andrews – GSMA Case for Change
  • Decision Time – HM Land Registry
  • DHD – Halfstack
  • Fathom – UX Design Institute
  • Neueda – DAERA
  • Whitespace – Austrailian Challenger Bank

Developer of the Year

  • Dermott Barron – STATSports
  • Gregg Craig – Allstate NI
  • John Kyle – PA Consulting
  • Luke Donnelly – axial3D
  • Nuala Carland – Origin Digital
  • Ritu Bhatt – iEngageIT

eCommerce Project of the Year

  • Northside – DigitalPrinting.co.uk
  • Pitchbooking.com
  • Eyekiller – Robinsonsshoes.com
  • Groundswell – statsports.com
  • Media Nerds – tourticketireland.com
  • Zesty – kelloggsculcamps.gaa.ie

Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Daniel McGlade – Oroson
  • David Henderson – David Henderson Design
  • Jack Williams – Selazar Limited
  • Jason McKeown – Neurovalens
  • Jessica Dornan – Afterbook
  • Lucy McMullan – Only Just Media

Large Tech Company of the Year

  • All State NI
  • Kainos Group PLC
  • Novosco
  • Options Technology
  • Rakuten Blockchain Lab
  • STATSports

Best Digital Marketing Campaign

  • Kainos – Kainos Academy
  • Groundswell – Modius Headset
  • My Car Needs A – UK Brand Awareness Campaign
  • Power NI – Power NI Perks
  • Tomorrow Lab – Electric Ireland
  • Waterfront – Digital First Campaign

Business Personality of the Year

  • Adrienne Hanna – Right Revenue
  • David Henderson – David Henderson Design
  • Gareth Burns – Selazar Limited
  • Joe Boyle – Salt DNA
  • Paddy O’Hagan – Neueda
  • Tara Simpson – Instil Software

Digital Project of the Year

  • Danske – Data Intelligence
  • Education Authority – EA Transport
  • Liberty – Workgrid Assistant
  • Neueda – DAERA
  • TYSS – Genius Platform
  • Whitespace – Colinked Platform

Small Tech Company of the Year

  • See.Sense
  • Datactics
  • Fathom
  • Liopa
  • Neurovalens
  • Whitespace

Start-up of the Year

  • CropSafe
  • Deep Labs
  • Groundswell
  • Importwise
  • loyalBe

Tech for Good Innovation

  • Allstate – Cyber Security for Kids Programme
  • Angel Eyes NI – Helping families with visually impaired kids
  • Dawson Andrew – Big Data for Social Change
  • Mencap – The World Around Us
  • U-Hub – Suicide Prevention App
  • Young Enterprise NI – Company Tech Programme

Young Person of the Year

  • Aisling McGibbon – PwC
  • Andy McComb – Irish FA
  • Becca Hume – TapSOS
  • Daniel Crawford – axial3D
  • Jordan McDonald – Kainos Group Plc
  • Sophie McDonald – Options IT